close
close

Most of Canada will undergo an emergency alert test today

0

OTTAWA – The federal government will test its ability to issue emergency alerts today. This means Canadians in most provinces and territories will receive a testing alert on their cell phones and through television and radio broadcasts.

OTTAWA – The federal government will test its ability to issue emergency alerts today.

This means Canadians in most provinces and territories will receive a testing alert on their cell phones and through television and radio broadcasts.

The only exception is Ontario, where the test will take place on May 15.

Provincial and territorial emergency management organizations already conduct regular testing of the system, but this is the first time the federal government is testing its ability to issue alerts.

Testing will be conducted in eight provinces and territories, while provincial and territorial authorities will conduct testing in another four.

The emergency warnings will be broadcast at 11:55 a.m. MDT in Alberta, 10:55 a.m. PDT in British Columbia, 1:55 p.m. CDT in Manitoba, 2:55 p.m. ADT in New Brunswick and 1:55 p.m. ADT in Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island.

The government said it recently signed an agreement to issue alerts on information of national interest that falls under federal jurisdiction.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published May 8, 2024.

The Canadian Press