ACTA announces new board: Monica Johnstone takes over as chairman


Monica Johnstone

ACTA has a new board with several new members and a new face as chairman.

ACTA held its Annual General Meeting on May 28, 2024, where members voted on the nine positions on the Board of Directors. Immediately following the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting, the newly elected directors appointed three new members to complete the 12-member Board of Directors.

The new ACTA Board for the year 2024-2025 is composed of:

  • Mark Greenwood, Operations Manager at Travel Masters, represents the British Columbia/Yukon region
  • Peter Keyter, Director and General Counsel, The Travel Lady, represents the Alberta/Northwest Territories region
  • Karen Schabel CTM, Training and Development Coordinator, CAA Saskatchewan, representing the Saskatchewan region
  • Melanie (Mel) Carter CTM, Director of Travel Products, CAA Club Group of Companies, representing the Manitoba/Nunavut region
  • Monica Johnstone CTC, President of UNIGLOBE Travel Innovations, representing the Ontario region
  • Serge H. Malaison, General Manager, Voyages Centaure, representing the Québec region
  • Gary Gaudry, President of Maritime Travel, represents the Atlantic region
  • Zeina Gedeon, CEO, Trevello, ACTA Director without Portfolio
  • Brian Robertson, President, Direct Travel (Canada West), ACTA Director at Large
  • Shalene Dudley, CEO of Latitude Concierge Travels, appointed ACTA Director
  • Michael Johnson, President, Ensemble, ACTA appointed Director
  • Rocky Racco, Owner and CEO, TTI Travel, ACTA-appointed Director.
Rocky Racco, CEO, TTI Travel
Rocky Racco, CEO, TTI Travel

Monica Johnstone CTC becomes ACTA Board Chair

For the coming year, ACTA’s Board of Directors will be Chair Monica Johnstone, CTC, Vice Chair Mel Carter, CTM, Treasurer Gary Gaudry and Secretary Brian Robertson.

“It is an honour to take on the role of ACTA Board Chair,” said Johnstone. “I look forward to working with the ACTA Board and other stakeholders to represent the interests of travel agents, travel consultants and independent travel advisors.”

Several long-standing directors leave the board

“I would like to thank the following outgoing board members for their dedication and tremendous contribution over many years,” said ACTA President Wendy Paradis.Lisa Fleming, Managing Director, North South Travel; Geneviève Dupuy-Duplessis, Vice-President, Club Voyages Dumoulin; and Mary Jane Hiebert, owner, Oyster Travel Service.

Reactivation of regional advisory committees

In addition to its national board, ACTA consults with its reinstated regional advisory committees: TALA (Travel Agency Leaders Advisory Group), ITA (Independent Travel Advisor Committee), the Canadian Corporate Travel Advisory (CCTA) Committee, the Air Advocacy Committee, and the Travel Providers Committee to ensure that all stakeholders are heard and to enable ACTA to reach consensus and speak with one voice.

A complete list of regional advisory committees can be found Here.